Login   Deutsch
18. - 21. June 2020

JazzBaltica All Star Band / Jakob Bro meets Palle MikkelborgMaritim MainStageStrandallee 73B, 23669 Timmendorfer Strand, Deutschland
Fr 21.06.2019 | 18:00 Uhr | Timmendorfer Strand | Maritim MainStage | JB 1

JazzBaltica All Star Band

For the fourth year in a row, JazzBaltica will be opened by a high-calibre German-Scandinavian ensemble specially put together for the festival, consisting exclusively of female musicians. This is unique in the German festival landscape. Following the Swedish Ann-Sofie Söderqvist (2016), the German Tini Thomsen (2017) and the Norwegian Hildegunn Øiseth (2018), Julia Hülsmann will lead the ensemble this year. Born in Bonn, she is one of the most distinguished jazz pianists in Germany and has received many awards. In 2016 she was awarded the WDR Honorary Prize for cultural-political work and the SWR Jazz Prize. DIE ZEIT described Julia Hülsmann as "the lyricist of German jazz". Hülsmann proved with her own octet that she knows how to use pure women's ensembles with unusual ideas and verve. We can be curious about what she will come up with for the JazzBaltica All Star Band.
"I love this band from the bottom of my heart!" [Nils]

JazzBaltica All Star Band 2019: | Elin Larsson saxophone | Malin Wättring saxophone | Nicole Johänntgen saxophone | Fabia Mantwill saxophone | Tini Thomsen saxophone | Birgit Kjuus trumpet | Elin Andersson trumpet | Hildegunn Øiseth trumpet | Ann-Sofie Söderqvist trumpet | Karin Hammar trombone | Lisa Stick trombone | Mimmi Hammar trombone | Bodil Hallgren trombone | Antje Rößeler piano | Sandra Hempel guitar | Eva Kruse bass | Eva Klesse drums | Lisbeth Diers percussion | Lena Swanberg vocal | Julia Hülsmann composition, arrangement, leader

Jakob Bro meets Palle Mikkelborg

"Jakob Bro creates magical music that defies categorization," Downbeat wrote. It fascinates less by its demonstrative virtuosity than by its wonderful atmospheres, textures and sounds. Small imaginative narratives, finely balanced and exciting until the end. Bro uses the tones and chords with the help of electronic effects sometimes discreetly and then again strongly alienated, looped, expanded and creates in this way engaging style mixes that oscillate between jazz, blues, rock and minimal music. His third ECM album "Returning" features drummer Jon Christensen and trumpeter Palle Mikkelborg. He has recorded brilliant albums with Terje Rypdal, Dino Saluzzi and Jan Garbarek for the Munich label since 1978 and was also involved in Miles Davis' legendary album "Aura" as composer, arranger and producer. Together with Thomas Morgan - one of the most sought-after bassists of the New York scene - this generation-spanning project creates soundscapes between melodic catchiness and harmonic abstraction, between surprise and meditation.
"A musical bridge between yesterday, today and tomorrow! [Nils]

Jakob Bro Quartet: | Jakob Bro | Palle Mikkelborg trumpet | Thomas Morgan bass | Jorge Rossy drums

Ticket price

45 € / reduced 36 €